Girls can be Engineers too!

Some of you might have dropped by my “About” page and know that I am a female engineer. Ever since I graduated from school and started going for interviews, it is not uncommon that I receive this question from interviewers.

“Why are you a female and you took up an engineering course?”

You’ll be surprised that even the interviewers might be females themselves, holding a similar engineering degree.

Some of you reading might also be female engineers and you will be nodding in agreement when I say that this is a typical stereotype that people generally have. Girls usually go into careers like Human Resources, Finance, Accountancy and mainly other business related courses.

So how do I answer this question? I am usually candid in my interviews. This is what I would say.

“Well, why not? I like what I am doing, and I like the way engineers analyze situations. It is logical and structured, and it has a systematic flow. I think this thought process is applicable to many problems that we face on a daily basis, even if I were to study something else.” *smiles at them*

The smile is very important, by the way. :p

Now, the interviewer might be nodding in agreement (mainly due to the smile). Most likely, they would move on to the next question and hopefully the stereotype leaves their mind. They would no longer view you as someone who would be easily emotionally attached to stuff.

There are other advantages to being a female engineer too. I’ll state a few from my own experience. ^_^

1) When you need help, you don’t even have to ask.

Generally, Singaporean guys are gentlemanly. They have a soft spot for girls in their heart, as much as they might deny it. Sometimes, when I am walking around the office and a colleague sees me carrying something heavy, he’ll offer to help carry it for me to my destination.

2) Productivity in engineering companies increases because of females.

If you’re a guy in engineering and you’ve heard a recent news that there will be a new colleague joining your department, the first thing you’ll try to find out is if he or she is female. Next, you’ll want to know her name so you can try “chancing upon” her Facebook page. CSI team in Singapore is one of the best among the world. :p

Having more females in a male dominating environment helps with the synergy of the team too. I am not too sure about this, but I have observed that my male engineering counterparts tend to be more motivated in contributing their ideas and improve their quality of work when working with a female in their team.

3) You get the power to choose.

In terms of your love life, of course. It is hard to find a single girl in engineering. Even if you are single, people will know it sooner or later and you might receive more attention before you know it. Office gossip spreads very, very fast. And you being limited in supply would create huge demand! :p

I hope that you agree with me on these points, and if you don’t, please feel free to comment at the bottom of this post.

With that being said, I hereby wish the best of luck to any female (and male) engineering graduates on their job hunt. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Miss Niao xoxo

Author: missniao

Hello! I blog about financial matters and things that average people can do to have a better retirement. I want to inspire people to take control of their money and have a better understanding about it. If you are interested to know more, follow me @ missniao.wordpress.com! :)

1 thought on “Girls can be Engineers too!”

Leave a Reply

