The messy (and financial) affairs of Kenneth

In my daily life, I have several roles that I have to play. Just to name a few, I need to be a daughter, a sister, a girl friend and friend. In recent days, I have added one new role to that list.

That new role is counselor. Huh? Simi counselor?

A counselor is a person whose job is to give advice to people who need it, especially advice on their personal problems.

Confused? Just read on…

This is the story of Kenneth.

Kenneth is a close friend of mine. When I knew him, he was happily married with a beautiful wife. He had a 2 year old son which photos I have seen plastered around his Facebook page. Handsome young boy, I might add.

One fine (okay, maybe not so fine) day, Kenneth texted me.


Kenneth: “I’m going to lose everything!”

Me: “Huh? What do you mean? What happened?”

Kenneth: “I’m going to get a divorce.”

Me: “?!?!?!!??!?! Since when? Why I don’t know?!”

Kenneth: “Wife found out that I had an affair. *explains situation from head to toe* How!? Now have to move out, she doesn’t want to see me.”

Me: “Aiyo, why you never think properly… Try to console her and make her forgive you.”

Kenneth: “Hais, how!?”


So that’s how I became a counselor lor.

For the next few months, I was there helping him through his heart break from both his wife and the other woman. It wasn’t easy for him because it became quite a messy affair. The other woman had her own relationship, and left him too to fix things with her boyfriend.

His wife wanted a divorce, and therefore they had to give up their HDB flat which they have bought recently just before the birth of his son. In the midst of doing so, his wife also did not allow him to live together with her. He had no choice but to move out temporarily and took up a rental room of around $600 per month.

Since this is a financial blog, let me perform a break down on the amount of money he has “lost” throughout this entire saga.

Divorce Lawyer fees  $ (11,000.00)
Housing rental (for 1 year)  $   (7,200.00)
HDB renovation  $ (50,000.00)
Child support (Per month)  $       (800.00)

Excluding child support which would be an ongoing monthly expense, he has outstanding losses of $68,200.

Now, you might think he might be able to gain back some of the losses from the sale of his HDB flat. Think again.

He bought his 5-room flat at $787,000 and sold it recently at $808,000. Including agent commission fees, returning accrued interest back into his CPF OA and other miscellaneous costs, there wasn’t really much of a profit at all.

This is one very good example when they say money cannot buy you everything. Like spilled milk, all you can do is to clean up the mess and move on with life.

Marriage is meant to be sacred, but in the current society, it makes it easy to just denote your status by a piece of paper. Likewise, it is also easy to tear it apart to remove it.

To me, I think the hardest part would be knowing that his son will not being able to have a complete family during his growing up years. I personally feel that when a situation like this arises, the child is the one who would suffer the most, even if they don’t know that they will.

Luckily for Kenneth, he was able to establish a friendly relationship with his current ex-wife despite everything that happened and they are on relatively good terms now. I hope that Kenneth will learn from his lesson and think twice before going ahead with a costly decision. From my counseling, he seems to be happier, being able to still spend time with his son and bring him out on the weekends. :p

Do you know anyone in a similar situation? Feel free to share your stories in the comments below.

P.S.: In case you’re wondering, Kenneth was the one who suggested that I post this story about him on my blog. He wanted to share his story so that others can learn from it. I hope that this blog post helped you in some way, as how he wished it would have.

Thanks for reading!

Miss Niao xoxo

Author: missniao

Hello! I blog about financial matters and things that average people can do to have a better retirement. I want to inspire people to take control of their money and have a better understanding about it. If you are interested to know more, follow me @ missniao.wordpress.com! :)

8 thoughts on “The messy (and financial) affairs of Kenneth”

  1. Thanks for sharing this. A useful reminder that A divorce is not only emotionally draining but also can be financially draining.
    I had close friends who had gone through similar experience except that in their cases, their wives had affairs. You cannot imagine how heart breaking and depressed they were.
    Please keep your posts going daily. Your posts have a certain youthfulness in it that I think is great … not like the Ah Pek type that I do … LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Warriortan!
      Thanks for dropping by! I went by your blog and I think you blog quite comprehensively. There’s a lot of effort for the most recent blog post about all the results for the S-REITS. Please also keep blogging, so that I can get all these useful info lol :p
      I’ll add you to my blog roll in a bit 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes divorce is an expensive affair. I had a friend who had to go through the same thing and it wasn’t pretty. For his case, rather than renting a flat, he bought a one bedroom condo, which he could afford. The only consolation is that he was a rather financially savvy person and managed to retire before his turned 30.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! To retire at age 30 is a feat. I would love to know how he did it :p
      A female minimalist blogger! A coincidence that I was watching a YouTube video just a few minutes ago about minimalism. I love your blogging style, will add you to my blog roll 🙂

      Like

      1. Thanks! Well, for my friend, in short, he had inherited a tiny wealth and manage to multiply it via various investment arms. However, looking at his current situation, you will hardly find it enviable due to his messy family affairs.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Budget Babe! Thanks for dropping by hehe, I have been a silent reader of your blog.
      Yeah and the costly decisions that come with it usually brings more disadvantages than benefits.
      I’ll add you to my blogroll, check it out the next time you drop by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

