Cheap and Good – How I spend $111 on Make-Up Every Year

This is the first blog entry for “Cheap and Good“. Yay!!!!! I have decided to share with my female readers (and male ones if you happen to be interested :p) about the different make-up that I use. Other than being a financial blogger, I am also secretly a make-up geek that probably watches too many make-up tutorials for her own good. :p

I don’t use make-up everyday but I do have a basic routine that I follow religiously if I want to look better on a particular day. The brands that I use are pretty generic and most of them are actually drugstore brands that are easily found locally.

I have found out over the years that the brand and the quality of the product are tied to each other majority of the time – the better the brand, the better the quality of the product (therefore the more expensive the product). Despite that, there are shiny gems that I chance upon once in a while where this relationship doesn’t hold true. Most of the stuff in my make-up bag are actually these shiny gems and I have developed a very close relationship with them, to the point where I can already classify them as my Holy Grails.

Somehow while typing this, it has made me appreciate brand loyalty like never before. Lol!

I would also like to add that the techniques for applying make-up is VERY, VERY important. Using very good make-up yet applying it wrongly can lead to devastating results. Everyone has their own way of making their make-up work for them, and you can get some useful tips from YouTube on applying make-up. At least that’s how I learned mine, anyway.

So here they are! *drumrolls*

Picture1.png

From left to right, top to bottom:

  1. Chanel Le Blush Crème de Chanel Cream Blush (63 Revelation)

  2. Maybelline Dream Satin Two-Way Cake SPF 32 / PA +++ (B5)

  3. Innisfree Long Wear Cushion Foundation SPF 50 / PA +++ (N23)

  4. Peripera Peri’s Tint Water (No. 5 Strawberry Juice)
  5. [the SAEM] Cover Perfection Tip Concealer SPF28 / PA ++ (Rich Beige)
  6. Eye lash curler from Daiso
  7. Maybelline Lash Sensational (001 Black)

As you can see, I don’t use too many products and I try to keep my daily make-up routine as simple as possible. (Guys be like “What the heck?! 7 products still not too much?!“) I am quite lucky as my skin complexion is relatively good. I do not have any acne problems apart from the occasional pimple which always seem to appear outta nowhere (if you know what I mean). The only insecurity that I have are my really, really dark eye circles and puffy eye bags as inherited from bad genes (yes, I’m gonna blame it on them), and that’s why you see the concealer in the above image. I also focus more on enlarging my eyes and getting enough sun protection as I live on an island where it’s summer all year round.

This is the part where it gets a bit more interesting – price evaluation! Let’s see how much I spend on make-up every year…

Capture.JPG

Oh and not to forget, the make-up bag which costs around $2 which I have practically been using like foreverrrrrrrrrr.

This boils down to an average of less than $10 a month!!! Actually, a bulk of the costs comes from the Chanel blusher which I have purchased using my “fun” money. I attended a Chanel event with my Tai Tai friend last year and ended up succumbing to the temptation. 😦 If you exclude the blusher (which you can easily substitute for other make-up products like a lip gloss), the price comes down way lesser.

I have a confession to make before I continue on… Well you see, the prices that I have quoted above would not be the exact retail price of the products in Singapore. They are the prices that I have purchased them at (as well as I can recall – some of them were bought more than a year ago, or came as a bundle with other products). I seldom ever buy make-up from retail stores unless they are on a big sale. ALL of my make-up is bought overseas except for Item 1 and 6. The reason that I do this is because I hope to get the best bang out of my buck and it’s out of habit.

A few other things to note here are that you might have to repurchase your make-up more often than me if you use it more regularly. I know some of my friends who can’t live without theirs and refuse to leave the house without it. Walao, I salute them because my laziness always prevails my desire to look pretty hahahaha. Also, most of the information in the length of usage is according to the period-after-opening symbol on the packaging. In reality, it might be shorter or longer depending on the product itself. A good example would be to replace your mascara once it gets clumpy and hard to apply even before 6 months has passed upon opening of the packaging.

I wouldn’t go into detail about the products as this blog entry is mainly a price evaluation as to how much I spend in a year averagely on make-up. However, I would consider doing separate reviews for them if any of you requests for them or if I feel like doing one. :p (especially the Daiso eye curler – it is INSANELY effective for just $2!!!) If you’re interested to find out more, please just drop a comment below! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Miss Niao xoxo

Author: missniao

Hello! I blog about financial matters and things that average people can do to have a better retirement. I want to inspire people to take control of their money and have a better understanding about it. If you are interested to know more, follow me @ missniao.wordpress.com! :)

6 thoughts on “Cheap and Good – How I spend $111 on Make-Up Every Year”

    1. Hahahaha! That would be under another category of skin care regime which I also have another part of funds for.
      On a side note, I used to be a promoter for SKII and I find that their facial essence smells funny :p

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! You should have been amazed by all the products that your partner uses lol. My partner, on the other hand, doesn’t use any products at all (except hair wax). He doesn’t even use facial wash, which would be considered a deadly sin to me.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

