July 2017 – Portfolio Updates

This would be my first post for an update of my portfolio. Yay! The main reason is because I have collected some dividends in July and would like to note down the progress of my portfolio.

It has been almost three months since I stepped out of my comfort zone and bought my very first stock that isn’t the STI ETF. Fast forward till today, BF (yes, I pulled him along with this journey with me) and I have built a portfolio with almost $30,000 invested capital. At the time of writing, each of our stock holdings has generated paper gains. Our portfolio stats, as calculated from my online portfolio, has an overall time weighted annual return of 9.9% and a paper gain of 5.57% on invested capital with dividends collected.

I do not have any compliments for myself at all. In fact, I think that it is quite worrying to see all our holdings green. The higher the prices are, the riskier should the holdings of our portfolio be. I am aware that I have started investing when the STI is on a bull run, and all our profits might be generated because of the fact that the bull market is still ongoing. The performance for the STI has been +15.88% since the beginning of 2017 and it makes my returns look pretty paltry actually. Who knows how long this trend would run for.

I have also realized that there is so much information about the stock market. There are so many techniques that one can adopt and pick up from, especially with information so easily accessible at the tip of one’s fingers. Be it fundamental analysis or technical analysis, there is definitely something out there that will fit any investor’s appetite. I have been doing a lot of reading on my part too. Just like how people have different belief systems due to their religion, investors also can have their own beliefs to guarantee what works best for them and to generate returns.

I think I am beginning to be a little more immune to the fluctuations of the market while monitoring my portfolio. I know that these fluctuations aren’t within much of my control. The only things that are really in my control are my own emotions, and the trust in myself that I did the right judgement. I have to find a way to gain more trust, and unfortunately, I don’t think three months is a long enough time for me to do that. :/ I’ll review again by the end of this year to see if I have beaten the market, and if I haven’t, I would reflect upon my mistakes and contemplate on DCA-ing into the STI ETF again.

We’ll see.

By the way, I have bought some shares in ComfortDelgro in July too. 🙂 Welcome ComfortDelgro, to Miss Niao’s portfolio! *cheers*

Dividends collected:

Nikko AM STI ETF – 0.75% ($67.73)

Upcoming dividends in August:

First REIT – 1.62% ($83.46)

Thanks for reading!

Miss Niao xoxo

Author: missniao

Hello! I blog about financial matters and things that average people can do to have a better retirement. I want to inspire people to take control of their money and have a better understanding about it. If you are interested to know more, follow me @ missniao.wordpress.com! :)

5 thoughts on “July 2017 – Portfolio Updates”

  1. I have been accumulating ComfortDelGro too. But some of friends said I am crazy as they felt that it would be the next SingPost and SPH. What’s your take? Especially from someone so young like you from “e-commerce” generation.

    Like

    1. Hi Warriortan!
      I decided to buy some shares with ComfortDelgro because of it’s strong fundamentals and a depressed stock price which brought the P/E ratio to around 16. I think it is still overvalued but it is so hard to find value nowadays. You should know too. Should the price drop further, we will have more reason to cheer and buy even more.
      Anyway, why do your friends feel this way? Can I make a guess that it is due to Uber and Grab in some way? O_O

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

