FY2021 Expenses Review

Gotta quickly finish up this post before CNY officially starts.

Previous Expenses Reviews

Click here for past Expenses Reviews:

FY2020 Expenses Review

FY2019 Expenses Review

FY2018 Expenses Review

FY2017 Expenses Review

Getting down to numbers

2021 wasn’t gonna be the year of small numbers. In fact, my expenses for this year alone would have allowed my 27-year-old me to survive for 2 years. I have spent a total of $43,574.44 as the final recorded numbers.

Ouch.

As you can see, I have an immense amount of family commitments. In the “Others” section, pretty much a majority of it was also meant to be for family. All categories have seen an increment and I have spent roughly $3,631.20 per month. That’s a lot of money – more so than a typical fresh graduate’s salary nowadays.

Although it feels like I’ve been thrown multiple fireballs if I compared it to FY2020, but overall, my net worth has also increased significantly. This was due to the rising market performance in the stocks that I have bought during the COVID19 crash. I feel so very lucky that even during times of adversity, I could still save a significant amount of cash.

Taking into account all the stock market returns and portfolio value, equity in my house, cash on hand, and finally CPF contributions and interest earned, I still managed to garner a 6-digit increase in my net worth. Definitely something that surprised me when I was doing some finance housekeeping.

Albeit my woes about work in my last post, my boss seemed to think otherwise. He awarded me a promotion this year and I felt very appreciated considering all of the hard work that I have placed into my full-time job. I am also deeply grateful for the additional push in my income, though not much, but will definitely be useful for this year’s income review as I will be needing it for other personal reasons.

What to expect in FY2022

My portfolio allocation is as follows:

Stocks – 25%

Home Equity – 70%

Liquid funds – 5%

I do not count CPF money as my portfolio funds as they are illiquid.

With only 5% as liquid funds, it has been my lowest percentage thus far in my entire investing life. I will build this aggressively again by the first quarter of this year and scout around for good valuations in the stock market.

Home equity will not increase as of much as I would be using majority of my CPF OA for mortgage installments and downpayment. I still prefer to have liquid funds on hand. With more liquidity, I can have more options at play, especially when emergencies arise.

I hope to be able to build liquid funds back up to 50% this year, or at least be able to deploy some of them back to stocks.

Miss Niao xoxo

Author: Miss Niao

Hello! I blog about financial matters and things that average people can do to have a better retirement. I want to inspire people to take control of their money and have a better understanding about it. If you are interested to know more, follow me @ missniao.wordpress.com! :)

Leave a comment